Free Nights Electricity Plans in Texas: What's Free and What Isn't

EcoFlow

A $0 nighttime energy rate sounds attractive, but read the Electricity Facts Label (EFL) before signing up. Paid-hour rates, delivery charges, fixed fees, and eligibility rules still affect your bill. This guide compares provider schedules and dated EFL examples, explains a hypothetical bill calculation, and shows when a compatible home battery may help shift daytime use. A plan must permit a household with a battery before that strategy is an option.

How Free Nights and Weekends Electricity Plans Compare

Free Nights and Weekends Electricity Plans in Texas Right NowFree Nights and Weekends Electricity Plans in Texas Right Now

Free nights and weekends plans reduce the energy charge during defined hours. The table combines official provider descriptions with the dated, area-specific EFL examples identified below. It is not a list of guaranteed current offers at your address. EFL URLs can return updated versions, so confirm the provider, service area, document date, charges, and eligibility before enrolling.

Provider and plan

Free window (as the provider states it)

Delivery (TDU) charges during free hours

Chariot Energy Free Nights — provider says this is not a fit for homes with a home battery or rooftop solar

11 PM to 6 AM, every night

Provider page: delivery charges and any base charge are "passed through at cost"

Chariot Energy Free Weekends Plus

12 AM Saturday to 6 AM Monday

Check this plan’s own EFL for delivery and base charges; do not assume another Chariot plan’s billing terms apply.

Direct Energy Twelve Hour Power 12 — AEP Texas Central EFL, September 30, 2026

9:00 PM to 9:00 AM, daily

The cited AEP Texas Central EFL prorates delivery charges and bills no TDU delivery charges for the designated free period; the provider base charge is $9.95 per billing cycle. Check the current EFL for your address.

Green Mountain Energy Pollution Free Nights

9 p.m. to 6 a.m., every night

Not stated on plan page; check the EFL

Reliant Truly Free Nights 100% Solar 12 — TNMP EFL, September 13, 2026

8:00 PM to 6:00 AM, every day

The cited TNMP EFL lists $0 per-kWh nighttime delivery; a monthly TDSP charge remains. Confirm its current amount in your own area’s EFL.

Reliant Truly Free Weekends 12 — historical TNMP EFL, March 1, 2023; not a current enrollment quote

8:00 PM Friday to 12:00 AM Monday

The historical TNMP EFL lists $0 weekend energy and per-kWh delivery charges. It does not establish current Oncor charges or availability.

TXU Energy Free Nights & Cool Summer — excludes homes with rooftop solar panels, electric vehicles, or batteries

Nighttime energy charges credited at 100% (hours not stated on plan page; check the EFL)

Provider page: "TDU charges, taxes, and other applicable fees are not included in the credit and will be billed separately"

Free Nights vs. Free Weekends vs. Free Days

Free nights work best for households that use more power after dark, while free weekends suit those who use more electricity on weekends. Free days may fit homes with higher daytime usage.

  • Free nights: A good fit if you can run the dishwasher, do laundry, or charge an EV after dark.

  • Free weekends: Worth considering if you're away during the week and use more electricity at home on Saturdays and Sundays.

  • Free days: Chariot Energy describes a 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. free-energy window. Check the plan’s current EFL and household eligibility.

If you can't shift much of your electricity use into a free window, fixed-rate electricity plans may be a better fit. The free hours are only part of the deal; the paid-hour rate and fixed charges determine what you actually pay.

How Free Is Free? What the Electricity Facts Label Shows

Every Texas retail electricity plan has an Electricity Facts Label. It shows the plan's pricing, fees, contract term, and other details you need to compare offers. A free nights plan may charge $0 for energy during its free window, but daytime energy, base charges, and delivery costs can still add up. Under Texas Public Utility Commission rule 16 TAC §25.475, each product must have its own EFL. Providers must supply it at enrollment, when it changes, and on request. The label shows average prices at 500, 1,000, and 2,000 kWh of monthly use, rounded to a tenth of a cent. It also lists the contract term, early termination penalty, and applicable fees. PUCT rule 16 TAC §25.475.

The four bill charges to check

Your bill may include several charges, even when the energy rate is $0 during certain hours.

  • Energy charge: The amount your provider charges for electricity you use during paid hours. Free-hour energy may cost $0 per kWh.

  • Provider base charge: A fixed monthly fee from the retail provider. Some plans have none; Direct Energy's Twelve Hour Power 12 EFL lists $9.95.

  • TDU monthly charge: A recurring charge associated with the utility that maintains the poles and wires. Amounts differ by service area and version; whether charges are prorated or waived during free periods depends on the EFL.

  • TDU delivery charge per kWh: A charge for delivered electricity. The cited Reliant and Direct Energy EFL examples waive per-kWh delivery charges during their free periods. TXU says its credit excludes TDU charges. Chariot’s Free Nights page says delivery charges are passed through at cost; use each plan’s own EFL.

The delivery details matter. Two plans with the same free hours can produce different bills because their paid-hour rates, monthly fees, and delivery charges differ.

A Hypothetical Bill Calculation

For illustration only, assume a plan permits your household to enroll, charges 24.5248 cents per kWh for daytime energy and 6.5333 cents per kWh for daytime delivery, charges zero for both at night, and has a $4.90 monthly charge with no provider base charge. These are hypothetical inputs, not a verified Reliant or CenterPoint offer. The table compares nighttime usage shares of 42%, 25%, and 60% at 1,000 kWh per month. Replace every input with the current EFL for your own address before making an enrollment or savings decision. Totals are calculated before rounding the individual charges to cents.

Example: 1,000 kWh in a month

42% at night (hypothetical share)

25% at night

60% at night

Paid (daytime) kWh

580

750

400

Daytime energy charge (x 24.5248¢)

$142.24

$183.94

$98.10

Daytime delivery (x 6.5333¢)

$37.89

$49.00

$26.13

Hypothetical monthly charge

$4.90

$4.90

$4.90

Example total

$185.04

$237.84

$129.13

Effective price per kWh

18.5¢ (hypothetical calculation)

23.8¢

12.9¢

Even with 60% of use at night in this hypothetical example, the bill is not zero. Your actual bill depends on the EFL for your delivery area, your usage, and the charges that apply. For comparison, the Direct Energy AEP Texas Central EFL dated September 30, 2026 lists 34.8598¢/kWh for paid-hour energy and a $9.95 base charge. That is a different area-specific example, not an Oncor quote. A home battery can shift some daytime use only if the plan permits that household and the installation is suitable.

Storing Free-Hour Power for Paid Hours

Where the plan permits a household with a battery, a compatible installed home battery can charge during free hours and support selected circuits during paid hours. In the hypothetical calculation above, each kilowatt-hour shifted away from daytime use avoids 24.5248¢ of energy and 6.5333¢ of delivery charges, totaling about 31.06¢. This does not establish that an actual plan offers those rates or permits battery load-shifting.

Using those hypothetical rates, moving 10 kWh per day for 30 days out of paid hours would avoid about $93 in daytime charges before accounting for charging and discharging losses. This is arithmetic, not a product savings estimate or an available-plan quote. TXU’s Free Nights & Cool Summer excludes homes with batteries, rooftop solar panels, or EVs. Chariot’s Free Nights page also says the plan is not a fit for a home battery or rooftop solar. Do not combine these offers with a TITAN savings recommendation. For any other plan, confirm battery eligibility in its applicable EFL and Terms of Service first. Actual savings depend on usable capacity, losses, paid-hour use, and rates; fixed charges may remain. The two configurations below apply only where the household, plan, and installation are compatible.

EcoFlow TITAN 5000
• Time-of-Use Scheduling: With Smart Home Panel 10 (240V) and the EcoFlow App, it can charge during lower-rate hours and power selected circuits during peak hours. Savings depend on your local utility rates, TOU price spread, and daily usage. • Works With the Grid: Works with compatible rooftop solar in no-export mode through Smart Home Panel 10 (240V) (electrician installation required; local utility rules apply). • Split-Phase Output: 7.2kW of 120V/240V output. •Expandable Capacity: 5kWh base capacity, expandable up to 30kWh with additional EcoFlow TITAN batteries (sold separately). • Solar Input: 4kW single-MPPT solar input.

For households looking to integrate high-capacity solar arrays alongside time-of-use scheduling to maximize savings during peak rate hours, the upgraded model offers extended dual-solar inputs:

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus
•Works With the Grid: Connects alongside your existing panel through Smart Home Panel 10 (240V) and works with compatible rooftop solar in no-export mode. Installation by a qualified electrician is required, and local utility rules apply. •Solar-First Power: 8kW dual-MPPT solar input. Solar runs the home first, then charges the battery, and the grid covers any shortfall. • Time-of-Use Scheduling: The EcoFlow App can charge during lower-rate hours and use stored power during peak hours. Savings depend on your local utility rates, TOU price spread, solar production, and daily usage. • Output: 7.2kW from the battery, or up to 10kW when compatible solar and battery work together. •Expandable Capacity: 5kWh base capacity, expandable up to 30kWh with additional EcoFlow TITAN batteries (sold separately).

The EcoFlow TITAN suits households shifting moderate daytime use, while the EcoFlow TITAN Plus is better for homes with higher power demands or several heavy loads running at once when paired with Smart Home Panel 10 (240V). The $93 example illustrates potential savings under hypothetical rates, not a guarantee from either product. Fixed charges and any daytime use the battery can't cover remain. Learn how home batteries work with time-of-use rates to understand the potential benefits. Ultimately, a free nights plan is worthwhile only if your household can shift enough electricity use into the free window.

Who Actually Comes Out Ahead on a Free Nights Plan

Free nights and weekends plans are offered by retail electric providers, so they're available where customers can choose their electricity provider. The EIA describes Texas retail choice as mandatory in areas operated by ERCOT. Your local transmission and distribution utility still maintains the wires and responds to outages, regardless of which retail plan you select. The providers reviewed list service areas involving Oncor, CenterPoint Energy, AEP Texas Central, AEP Texas North, Texas-New Mexico Power (TNMP), and Lubbock Power & Light. Delivery charges differ by area, which means the same retail plan can cost different amounts depending on your address. EIA explanation of retail choice.

If a city-owned utility or electric cooperative bills you directly, these retail plans usually won't be available at your address. Enter your ZIP code on the Public Utility Commission of Texas's Power to Choose site to see the offers available where you live. Outside Texas, a few utilities offer time-of-use plans with lower overnight rates, but availability and pricing depend on the local utility's tariff. Check the actual rate schedule rather than assuming a Texas-style free nights offer exists in your area. Choosing an electricity plan is one way to manage costs. You can also review other ways to cut your electric bill and learn how time-of-use electricity rates work to decide whether a different rate structure or home energy setup makes sense for your household.

How to Compare Free Nights Electricity Plans Before You Sign

How to Compare Free Nights Electricity Plans Before You SignHow to Compare Free Nights Electricity Plans Before You Sign

Compare EFLs side by side instead of relying on the headline rate in an ad. The free window, paid-hour energy price, delivery fees, and contract terms all affect what you pay. Use your own usage pattern rather than assuming you'll match the plan's advertised average. Use this checklist before enrolling:

  1. Get the EFL for your delivery area. Rates can differ across Oncor, CenterPoint, AEP, and TNMP service areas.

  2. Write down the exact free window. Check the start and end times, plus which days qualify.

  3. Add up the charges. Include the paid-hour energy rate, provider base fee, TDU monthly charge, and any per-kWh delivery charge during free hours.

  4. Check the plan's usage assumption. Compare the nighttime or weekend share used in the EFL's average price with your own meter data.

  5. Review the current contract term, early termination fee, and exceptions. The dated Reliant and Direct Energy EFL examples linked above list a $150 early termination fee, with an exception for a qualifying move. Your own contract controls.

  6. Compare a fixed-rate plan. Use your real monthly usage and the same delivery area to make a fair comparison.

  7. Check current offers on Power to Choose. Enter your ZIP code on the PUCT's plan comparison site and read the EFL before signing.

Time-based pricing can take several forms. Understanding how time-of-use electricity rates work can help you compare plans that charge different rates at different times.

Conclusion

Free nights electricity plans can lower your bill if you use enough power during the free window, but the paid-hour rate and fixed delivery charges still matter. Start with the EFL for your address, compare its assumed nighttime usage with your own meter data, and run the numbers against a fixed-rate plan before signing. If you want to shift more daytime use into a free window, the EcoFlow TITAN or EcoFlow TITAN Plus can support selected household circuits within their respective capacity and output limits when installed with Smart Home Panel 10 (240V). Neither guarantees a zero bill or a particular payback.

FAQs

Are free nights electricity plans really free?

The free window waives the energy charges specified by the plan; some plans also waive per-kWh delivery charges. Paid-hour energy, provider base charges, and other applicable charges can remain. Check the EFL for the exact treatment of each charge.

Do I pay delivery charges during free nights?

It depends on the plan and EFL version. The cited Reliant and Direct Energy examples waive per-kWh delivery charges during free periods. TXU excludes TDU charges from its energy credit, and Chariot Free Nights passes delivery charges through at cost. Monthly charges and any proration or waiver must be checked in the specific EFL.

What hours are free on free nights plans?

Hours vary by provider. The plans reviewed include 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. for Reliant, 9 p.m. to 6 a.m. for Green Mountain Energy, 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. for Chariot, and 9 p.m. to 9 a.m. for Direct Energy. Check the current EFL before enrolling.

Are free weekend electricity plans worth it?

They may be if much of your electricity use falls within the eligible weekend window. Compare your meter data with the usage share assumed in the current EFL. The historical Reliant TNMP example linked above used 32%, but it does not establish the terms of a current offer. If you use less power during free hours, compare a fixed-rate plan using the same monthly usage and service area.

Can a home battery make my bill zero on a free nights plan?

No. A battery can move some electricity use from paid hours into the free window, subject to its capacity, output, and conversion losses. Fixed monthly charges and any daytime use the battery can't cover remain on the bill, and savings aren't guaranteed.

For press requests or interview opportunities, reach out to our media team

media.na@ecoflow.com
Save Bills