Which Solar Companies Offer the Best Battery Storage Options? Tesla, Enphase, FranklinWH and EcoFlow Compared

EcoFlow

No single company is best for every home. Tesla and FranklinWH top EnergySage's 2026 quote-based battery ranking, and Enphase's IQ Battery 10C ties for fifth. Compare companies on four points: specs and warranty, the extra hardware the system needs, how it is sold and installed, and whether local service covers the address.

Readers ask about companies, but homeowners buy a system. That system includes the battery, inverter, control hardware, installer and support. This article offers a company table, a datasheet-checked product table, a fair look at where EcoFlow fits, and the questions that separate a good company from a good brochure. Finding the best solar battery starts with that full picture.

Solar Battery Companies Compared: How Each One Sells, Installs and Connects

The same battery can be a strong pick or a poor one. The difference often comes from how the company gets it into a home. So this section compares the whole system each company sells, not just the battery. Anyone sizing the best solar battery backup system for home use needs that view first.

Company

Main home battery

Extra hardware for backup

How it is sold or installed

Source

Tesla

Powerwall 3 (integrated solar inverter)

Gateway 3, Backup Switch or Backup Gateway 2 (islanding devices)

Bought from Tesla or a Tesla certified installer in the US, per Tesla's warranty terms

Powerwall 3 datasheet, Powerwall warranty

Enphase

IQ Battery 10C and IQ Battery 5P (AC-coupled)

IQ System Controller 3/3G for backup with the 5P; the 10C page says backup is built in

Through local authorized Enphase distributors and installers

IQ Battery 5P, IQ Battery 10C

FranklinWH

aPower 2 (AC-coupled)

aGate (up to 15 aPower units per aGate)

Listed as available in the US and Canada; buyers confirm the local dealer or installer

aPower 2 datasheet

EcoFlow

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 and EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus

EcoFlow Smart Home Panel 10 (240V) for home circuits, plus a CT sensor for AC coupling with existing solar

Sold online by EcoFlow US, listed as pre-order; official installation service listed; no shipment to Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico or other outlying areas

EcoFlow TITAN 5000

Purchase paths differ in plain ways. Tesla's warranty covers Powerwall units bought from Tesla or a certified installer. Enphase tells buyers to contact a local authorized distributor. FranklinWH's datasheet lists the aPower 2 for the US and Canada. Buyers should still confirm who sells and installs it nearby.

Extra hardware changes the quote. Tesla names three islanding devices. Enphase pairs the IQ Battery 5P with the IQ System Controller 3/3G, while the IQ Battery 10C page says backup is built in. FranklinWH uses the aGate, which can manage up to 15 aPower units. EcoFlow uses Smart Home Panel 10 (240V).

Coupling decides the fit with existing solar. Homes with panels already on the roof often look for the best battery for solar panel systems that avoids an inverter swap. AC-coupled units like the aPower 2 and the IQ Battery models connect on the AC side. Powerwall 3 has an integrated inverter and takes up to 20 kW of DC solar. EcoFlow TITAN units use Smart Home Panel 10 with a CT sensor to AC couple.

EnergySage ranks single products. Lists of the best batteries for solar homes built that way do not show how each company sells or installs. None of these makers is a local contracted installer by default, and no company here claims service in every state. A reliable solar installer also pulls the permit and handles service calls, so that choice carries real weight.

With the business side clear, the next step is what each battery can do.

Best Solar Battery Options by Company: Specs and Warranties

Solar powered home during blackoutSolar powered home during blackout

Figures below come from each maker's US datasheet or product page, checked October 27, 2026. Three of these models appear among the best solar batteries in EnergySage's 2026 ranking.

Battery

Energy per unit

Continuous output

Coupling / solar input

Warranty

Expansion

Tesla Powerwall 3

13.5 kWh AC (nominal)

11.5 kW AC

Integrated inverter, up to 20 kW DC solar

10 years, 70% retention, unlimited cycles for solar self-consumption, time-based control and backup

Up to 4 units

FranklinWH aPower 2

15 kWh AC

10 kW / 11.5 kVA

AC-coupled

15 years or 60 MWh throughput

Up to 15 units per aGate (225 kWh)

Enphase IQ Battery 10C

10 kWh usable

7.08 kW

AC-coupled

15 years, up to 6,000 cycles

Modular; limit not stated on product page

Enphase IQ Battery 5P

5.0 kWh usable

3.84 kW (7.68 kW peak for 3 seconds)

AC-coupled

15 years or 6,000 cycles, more than 60% capacity per data sheet

Modular; limit not stated on product page

EcoFlow TITAN 5000

5 kWh (5,017.6 Wh)

7,200 W, 120V/240V

Up to 4,000 W direct solar (1 input); AC coupling via Smart Home Panel 10 and CT sensor

5 years

Up to 30 kWh (1 unit plus 5 extra batteries)

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus

5 kWh (5,017.6 Wh)

7,200 W; up to 10,000 W with solar

Up to 8,000 W direct solar (2 inputs of 4,000 W); AC coupling via Smart Home Panel 10 and CT sensor

5 years

Up to 30 kWh (1 unit plus 5 extra batteries)

Warranty fine print matters more than the headline years. Tesla's 10-year term holds 70% retention with unlimited cycles for solar self-consumption, time-based control and backup. Other uses fall under a 37.8 MWh throughput cap. The full term also depends on the Powerwall staying online and registered.

FranklinWH lists 15 years or 60 MWh of throughput. Enphase lists 15 years and up to 6,000 cycles. EcoFlow's 5-year term is the shortest here.

The aPower 2 datasheet and the IQ Battery 10C page do not state end-of-warranty capacity. Each maker's warranty document may, so request it before signing. No prices appear in the table because makers do not publish installed prices on the same basis.

Chemistry also matters when comparing the best batteries for solar power storage, since LFP versus NMC chemistry shapes safety and lifespan.

EcoFlow sells its system differently from the installer-led brands, so it needs its own fair look.

Where EcoFlow Fits Among Solar Battery Makers

EcoFlow sells the TITAN Series directly online. Each system starts at 5 kWh, and owners can add batteries up to 30 kWh. Home circuits connect through the EcoFlow Smart Home Panel 10 (240V), which a licensed electrician installs. Existing rooftop solar connects through AC coupling with the same panel and a CT sensor.

The warranty is 5 years. Tesla offers 10 years, while FranklinWH and Enphase offer 15. Readers should weigh that gap against their own quotes.

Shoppers hunting for the best solar powered battery often start with direct solar input. That is where the two TITAN models split.

Two EcoFlow TITAN models split by how much solar the home connects directly.

A home with 120V/240V circuits the unit can serve, and up to 4 kW of direct solar input on one array, fits the EcoFlow TITAN 5000.

EcoFlow TITAN 5000
• 100% Whole-Home Backup. 7.2kW powers your 3-ton AC, refrigerator, and the rest of your home simultaneously, with no soft starter needed. • 100% Whole-Home Savings. Save up to $2,900/year, with ROI in 3 years. • Only 30% of Traditional System Cost. Industry-first 200V architecture, custom high-rate LFP cells, and a pre-wired SHP10 help lower costs across the entire lifecycle, including upfront purchase, installation, and long-term use. • OASIS 3.0 — Your AI-based Home Energy Manager. Charges off-peak, powers your home during peak hours, and helps lower your electricity bill every day. • North America Highest Safety Standards. UL 9540 certified and tested to UL 9540A, with EV-grade LFP cells and 24/7 BMS monitoring.

A home that needs two solar inputs totaling more than 4 kW, up to 8 kW, fits the EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus. Both models give 7,200 W of rated output on battery alone.

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus
• 100% Whole-Home Backup. 7.2–10kW output and 5kW single-circuit capacity power your 3-ton AC, refrigerator, and the rest of your home simultaneously, with no soft starter required. • 100% Whole-Home Savings. Save up to $3,100 per year, with ROI in as little as 3 years. •Only 30% of Traditional System Cost. Industry-first 200V architecture, custom high-rate LFP cells, and a pre-wired SHP10 help lower costs across the entire lifecycle, from upfront purchase and installation to long-term use. • OASIS 3.0 — Your AI Home Energy Manager. Charges off-peak, powers your home during peak hours, and helps lower your electricity bill every day. • Built to North America's Highest Safety Standards. UL 9540A tested and UL 9540 certified, with EV-grade LFP cells and 24/7 BMS monitoring.

Supply and installation come with conditions. EcoFlow lists free shipping in the US except Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico and other territories. The TITAN 5000 page lists the product as a pre-order item. It also lists an official installation service, but on October 27, 2026 it marked Smart Home Panel 10 installation as "Coming Soon." Installation availability and local permits need confirmation for each address. EcoFlow is not a local contracted installer by default.

After-sales terms are listed on the product page. The main unit, the TITAN battery and Smart Home Panel 10 each carry a 5-year warranty on the product page. Equipment, permits, service and fit with the existing inverter should be compared across every quote. Total cost comes from real quotes only.

Specs and sales models only go so far. These questions separate the companies for a specific home.

How to Choose the Best Solar Battery Company for Your Home

The best solar battery for home use is the one that fits the roof, the panel and the loads. These six questions help sort the options when talking to a company or installer.

Electrician checking main breaker panelElectrician checking main breaker panel
  • Does it work with my existing inverter, or must the inverter be replaced? An AC-coupled battery often connects to an existing inverter. An integrated-inverter design may change the plan.

  • What extra hardware is needed, and is it in the quote? Gateways, controllers and smart panels are separate line items in many systems.

  • Who installs it, who pulls the permit, and who services it in my area? Service coverage differs by address, and one company rarely covers every state.

  • What does the warranty cover? Years, cycles or throughput, end capacity and labor all count.

  • Which circuits will run in an outage, and which will not? Whole-home and partial backup carry different hardware and cost.

  • Can I add capacity later, and what does an added battery cost? Expansion limits range from 4 units to 15 units per controller.

Backup hardware matters because of how solar behaves in an outage. The U.S. Department of Energy explains that grid-tied panels switch off for safety when the grid fails. Panels need a properly configured inverter and a storage system to keep producing power on their own.

Tax rules changed as well. The IRS states that the Residential Clean Energy Credit is not available for property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Systems installed in 2026 do not qualify for it. Quotes should also be set against typical whole house backup costs in the same region.

Put together, the comparison points to a simple way to decide.

Conclusion

Tesla and FranklinWH top EnergySage's quote-based ranking, and Enphase's IQ Battery 10C ties for fifth. Even so, the right company is the one whose full system fits a home's solar, panel, loads and local service. The best solar battery storage plan starts there.

Get at least two itemized quotes for the same backup job. Then compare warranty documents, extra hardware and service area line by line.

Shoppers can also price an EcoFlow TITAN 5000 (up to 4 kW direct solar) or an EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus (up to 8 kW) beside installer quotes, after confirming installation and service for the address.

FAQs

Which company makes the best solar battery?

No single company is best for every home. Tesla Powerwall 3 and FranklinWH aPower 2 top EnergySage's 2026 quote-based ranking, but fit with the existing solar and inverter often matters more than rank alone. Quotes show the real picture.

Do I have to buy the battery from my solar installer?

Not always. Enphase sells through authorized distributors and installers, while EcoFlow sells TITAN online. Wiring a panel to home circuits still needs a licensed electrician, and permits and inspections depend on local rules.

Which solar battery has the longest warranty?

Among the batteries compared here, FranklinWH aPower 2 and Enphase IQ Battery models carry 15 years. Each adds a limit: 60 MWh of throughput for the aPower 2 and up to 6,000 cycles for Enphase. Read each warranty document before buying.

Can I mix a battery brand with a different solar inverter brand?

Often yes, with an AC-coupled battery, but the installer must confirm compatibility first. EcoFlow TITAN AC coupling needs Smart Home Panel 10 (240V) and a CT sensor to work with existing rooftop solar. Brand pairings vary by home.

Is there a federal tax credit for home batteries in 2026?

No. IRS.gov states the Residential Clean Energy Credit is not available for property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Systems installed in 2026 do not qualify, so quotes should not assume it. Ask each installer to confirm.

For press requests or interview opportunities, reach out to our media team

media.na@ecoflow.com
Solar Energy