Best Garage Heater for Your Space: 120V Plug-In, 240V Hardwired, and Gas Unit Heaters Compared

EcoFlow

The best garage heater depends on the power your garage already has. A standard 120V outlet, a 240V circuit, or a gas line will point you toward different options. This guide compares six garage heaters using manufacturer specifications. You'll also learn how to size a heater by cubic feet, follow essential safety rules, and plan backup power during winter outages. If you store a home battery in the garage, its operating temperature limits matter, too.

Best Garage Heaters Compared: Six Picks by Fuel, Voltage, and Mounting

Most garage heater roundups mix small 120V space heaters, 240V ceiling units, and gas heaters together. That creates confusion because each heater style needs a completely different power supply.

The comparison table below organizes six proven heaters by how they connect. Every figure comes straight from manufacturer spec sheets or owner manuals. Check your garage wiring first, then pick the unit that matches your electrical capacity.

Six Garage Heaters Compared

Heater

Type and fuel

Voltage and connection

Power

Coverage as stated

Mounting

Thermostat

King PSH1215T Yellow Jacket

Electric, fan-forced, portable

120V, 12.5A; 15A plug on a 6-ft cord

1,500W (5,100 BTU)

Not stated

Portable

Built-in thermostat; auto-reset overheat limit

King PGH2440TB


Electric, fan-forced, portable or bracket-mounted

240V or 208V; 20A, 240V NEMA 6-20P plug on a 6-ft cord

3,750W at 240V (15.6A); 2,813W at 208V

Not stated

Portable, or wall or ceiling with the included bracket

Built-in mechanical thermostat

Fahrenheat FUH54


Electric unit heater, fan-forced

240V or 208V, single phase

Up to 5,000W at 240V (17,065 BTU, 20.9A); lower wattage settings listed on the spec sheet

Not stated

Ceiling bracket, four indexed positions; 6 ft minimum mounting height

Built-in, 45°F to 135°F

Dr. Heater DR-975

Electric, fan-forced, hardwired

240V; individual branch circuit on a 40A breaker, 8 AWG copper

7,500W high (25,597 BTU), 4,700W low

Not stated (manual gives 1.25 W/cu ft rule)

Wall or ceiling bracket; 6 ft minimum height

Built-in, factory set at 70°F; remote with 1 to 12 hour timer

King KB ECO2S+ (KB2407-1-ECO2S-PLUS)

Electric unit heater, 2-stage

240V or 208V

7.5kW (25,598 BTU), 31.3A at 240V

Not stated

Wall or ceiling, universal bracket included

Built-in electronic thermostat, 40°F to 95°F, wireless remote sensor; accepts a 24V thermostat

Mr. Heater Big Maxx MHU50 (F260550)

Natural gas unit heater, propane conversion kit included

115V AC power required for operation; vented (Category 1 vertical or Category 3 horizontal)

50,000 BTU per hour input

Up to 1,667 sq ft

Ceiling, two angle brackets; 8 ft minimum from floor

Sold separately

Specifications vary by configuration. Check each manufacturer's current product page and installation manual before purchasing.

Important model notes:

  • Fahrenheat's FUH54 spec sheet lists internal wattages of 2,500W, 3,332W, 4,165W, and 5,000W at 240V. Only change these internal jumpers if the installation manual specifically permits it. Otherwise, plan for the full 5,000W draw.

  • Mr. Heater lists the Big Maxx for residential garages, but also notes "Indoor-safe: No." That means it is a permanent vented appliance. It must vent outside through proper flue pipes. It is not a portable heater you move around.

  • King states that its included wireless remote sensor helps identify and eliminate "garage cold spots."

  • The Comfort Zone CZ220 appears on retailer shelves, but no live manufacturer spec sheet could be verified. It has been excluded from this direct comparison.

Even a gas heater like the Big Maxx needs 115V AC power to spin its blower fan. That is why a gas furnace without electricity stops heating during an outage. If the power grid drops, your heat cuts out regardless of gas supply.

The voltage column in that table determines your winter emergency plans. Planning backup power looks very different for a 120V wall plug than for a 240V hardwired breaker.

Plug-In or Hardwired: Planning Outage Backup for a Garage Heater With EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Classic and EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus

Outage backup for garage heating starts with the heater, not the battery. First, choose a heater that fits your workspace and existing panel. Check the nameplate for running voltage, operating amps, and required breaker size.

Next, estimate runtime using your heater's real wattage draw. A 120V plug-in heater and a 240V hardwired heater require distinct backup configurations. Neither setup promises continuous whole-garage heating through subzero nights.

Five Steps to Size Backup Power

  1. Choose a heater that matches your garage and existing electrical supply.

  2. Read its nameplate and installation manual.

  3. Add the loads that will run simultaneously, including lights, a freezer, or a garage door opener.

  4. Compare the combined load with the backup system's rated output.

  5. Estimate runtime, allowing for conversion losses and changing heater demand.

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Classic: 120V plug-in heater plus lights

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Classic has a rated 120V output of 4,000W. Its listed outlets include three NEMA 5-20R receptacles and one TT-30R. A compatible 1,500W heater, such as the King PSH1215T, falls within that output rating, leaving capacity for some additional loads.

However, this system cannot directly power the 240V electric heaters listed in the comparison table. A gas heater's 115V blower and controls also require a suitable connection. For fixed home circuits, use the matching 120V Smart Home Panel 10 configuration installed by a licensed electrician.

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus: 240V fixed heating circuits

The EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus provides 7.2kW of battery-only output. Its output can reach 10kW when compatible solar is connected and producing power. Fixed circuits require the matching 240V Smart Home Panel 10 configuration and professional installation.

Compare the heater's demand with the available battery output:

  • Fahrenheat FUH54 at 5,000W plus about 1kW of other loads is about 6kW, under 7.2kW on paper.

  • Dr. Heater DR-975 on high (7,500W) and King KB2407 (7.5kW) are each above 7.2kW by themselves, so they can't run at full output on battery power alone. The DR-975's 4,700W low setting is under it, but only if the other loads stay small.

  • The DR-975 requires an individual 40A branch circuit. Your electrician must verify if this circuit matches the Smart Home Panel 10 design.

Where the battery sits:

EcoFlow specifies placing the system in a dry, ventilated indoor space within defined temperature boundaries. Garages work well if they meet those environmental conditions.

The published operating ranges allow discharging between 14°F and 113°F. Charging is permitted only between 32°F and 113°F.

An uninsulated garage in northern climates can drop below freezing quickly. You cannot charge the battery if ambient garage temperatures fall below 32°F. Proper location planning protects your equipment.

Estimated Runtime for Garage Heating

Battery runtime can be estimated with a simple planning calculation:

Usable energy = battery capacity × 0.85

The 0.85 factor is an assumed allowance for conversion losses, not a manufacturer specification. These estimates assume continuous full-power heating.

Setup

Calculation

Estimated runtime

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Classic, 5kWh base, King PSH1215T at 1,500W

5,000 × 0.85 = 4,250Wh ÷ 1,500W

About 2.8 hours

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Classic, 10kWh (one added battery), same heater

8,500Wh ÷ 1,500W

About 5.7 hours

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus, 5kWh base, Fahrenheat FUH54 at 5,000W

4,250Wh ÷ 5,000W

About 0.85 hours (about 51 minutes)

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus, 15kWh (two added batteries), FUH54 at 5,000W

12,750Wh ÷ 5,000W

About 2.6 hours

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus, 30kWh maximum, FUH54 at 5,000W

25,500Wh ÷ 5,000W

About 5.1 hours

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus, 30kWh maximum, DR-975 on low at 4,700W

25,500Wh ÷ 4,700W

About 5.4 hours

Running shop lights, a deep freezer, or power tools will shorten these runtimes. In an uninsulated building during freezing weather, heaters run constantly. Use these numbers as realistic planning guides, not absolute guarantees of overnight warmth.

Here is how both energy storage systems compare on the key specifications that determine your garage heating options.

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Classic
• 4,000W Whole-Home Essential Power. Run your fridge, microwave, Wi-Fi, lighting, and CPAP all at once. •5–30kWh Expandable Capacity. Get 1 day to 1 week of essential backup. Add batteries anytime, with no installer needed. • <25 dB. Quiet enough for indoor use—quieter than a whisper. • ≤20 ms Automatic Switchover. The lights don't even flicker. • OASIS 3.0 — Your AI-based Home Energy Manager. Charges off-peak, powers your home during peak hours, and helps lower your electricity bill every day. • North America Highest Safety Standards. UL 9540 certified and tested to UL 9540A, UL 1741 compliant, with EV-grade LFP cells, 24/7 BMS monitoring, and a 5-year warranty.
EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus
•100% Whole-Home Backup. 7.2–10kW output and 5kW single-circuit capacity power your 3-ton AC, refrigerator, and the rest of your home simultaneously, with no soft starter required. • 100% Whole-Home Savings. Save up to $4,000 per year, with ROI in as little as 3 years. • Only 30% of Traditional System Cost. Industry-first 200V architecture, custom high-rate LFP cells, and a pre-wired SHP10 help lower costs across the entire lifecycle, from upfront purchase and installation to long-term use. •OASIS 3.0 — Your AI Home Energy Manager. Charges off-peak, powers your home during peak hours, and helps lower your electricity bill every day. •Built to North America’s Highest Safety Standards. UL 9540A tested and UL 9540 certified, with EV-grade LFP cells and 24/7 BMS monitoring.

EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Classic covers a compatible 120V plug-in garage heater (about 1,500W) plus lights, within its 4kW rating. Use it standalone per EcoFlow's guide or on 120V circuits through Smart Home Panel 10 (120V version). EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus covers a 240V hardwired heater only when the nameplate watts plus other running loads fit under 7.2kW (such as a 5,000W unit heater). Wire it through Smart Home Panel 10 (240V version) by a licensed electrician. Neither one runs a 7,500W heater at full output on battery alone. Neither promises continuous heat for the whole garage.

Choosing between whole-home and essential-circuit backup setups is easier once you know whether the garage heater is one essential circuit or a load you'll switch off in an outage.

Those backup limits come straight from the heater's voltage and amps, so the next section explains what each heater type needs from your electrical panel before you buy it.

What Each Garage Heater Type Needs From Your Electrical Panel

A portable space heater for garage work is the only style that fits standard wall outlets. Larger electric unit heaters require heavy-duty 240V circuits.

Gas-fired unit heaters need a supply pipe, specialized chimney venting, and 115V power for the fan. Checking your electrical service panel first prevents expensive purchase returns.

120V Plug-In Heaters (About 1,500W)

King lists the PSH1215T at 12.5A on a 15A plug. Government source #1: DOE Energy Saver ("Small Space Heaters") says "Electric heaters should be plugged directly into the wall outlet" and, if an extension cord is necessary, to "use the shortest possible heavy-duty cord of 14-gauge wire or larger." CPSC's portable heater safety sheet is stricter: "never power the heater with an extension cord or power strip." Writer: lead with CPSC's rule and plugging directly into the wall, and tell readers to follow their heater manual. Many 1,500W heaters list a dedicated circuit; check the manual.

Plug-in heaterPlug-in heater

240V Plug-In and Hardwired Heaters (3,750W to 7,500W)

The King PGH2440TB draws 15.6A and uses a NEMA 6-20P plug. That requires an electrician to install a dedicated 240V, 20A receptacle.

Larger models like the Fahrenheat FUH54, Dr. Heater DR-975, and King KB ECO2S+ must be hardwired directly into a junction box:

  • Breaker sizing: The DR-975 manual requires an individual branch circuit protected by a 40A double-pole breaker.

  • Conductor sizing: It specifies minimum 8 AWG copper branch wiring.

  • Professional installation: Dr. Heater explicitly states that installation must be completed by a licensed electrician. Always follow the heater manual and local electrical building codes.

Gas Unit Heaters

The Mr. Heater Big Maxx MHU50 requires three separate infrastructure connections:

  • A gas supply to the unit's 1/2-inch gas connection. The installer must size the supply piping based on pipe length, required flow, pressure, and local code requirements. For propane, the unit ships with a conversion kit that must be installed per the manual.

  • Proper exhaust venting (Category 1 vertical or Category 3 horizontal stainless steel pipe).

  • A standard 115V electrical connection to power the draft inducer and blower fan motor.

Mr. Heater instructs buyers to check all local heating codes before routing exhaust pipe. Always hire a licensed mechanical contractor to install gas lines and exterior flues.

Remember that electric blower motors draw surge current when starting up. Reviewing starting watts versus running watts helps ensure your garage circuits can handle those initial motor spikes.

Gas unit heaterGas unit heater

Once you know what your panel can feed, the heater still has to match how much heat the garage itself needs, which depends on its volume and insulation more than its square footage.

What Size Heater Does a Garage Need? Watts, BTU, and Cubic Feet

Most online guides size garage heaters strictly by floor square footage. That approach fails because high garage ceilings dramatically increase the total air volume you must warm. Poor insulation also changes heating demands quickly.

The Dr. Heater DR-975 manual provides a more accurate volume-based rule of thumb: plan for roughly 1.25 watts of heating power per cubic foot of space.

Use the standard heating conversion factor: 1 watt equals approximately 3.412 BTU per hour. Fahrenheat's spec sheet lists 5,000W as 17,065 BTU/hr, which aligns perfectly with this calculation.

Conversion to keep: 1 watt ≈ 3.412 BTU per hour (Fahrenheat's spec sheet lists 5,000W as 17,065 BTU, which matches). Writer: cite the spec sheet figure and avoid adding a separate conversion source.

Sizing Examples: The 1.25 Watts Per Cubic Foot Rule

Garage (example dimensions)

Volume

× 1.25 W per cubic foot

Closest heater in H2 #1

12 × 22 ft, 8 ft ceiling

2,112 cu ft

About 2,640W

King PGH2440TB (3,750W)

22 × 22 ft, 8 ft ceiling

3,872 cu ft

About 4,840W

Fahrenheat FUH54 (5,000W)

24 × 24 ft, 10 ft ceiling

5,760 cu ft

About 7,200W

Dr. Heater DR-975 or King KB2407 (7,500W)

These dimensions illustrate common layouts. Drafty overhead doors and uninsulated drywall require significantly more thermal power.

A compact 1,500W portable heater produces only 5,100 BTU. It cannot heat an entire double garage. Instead, it provides directional spot heat at a workbench.

For large spaces, Mr. Heater lists the Big Maxx MHU50 for coverage of up to 1,667 sq. ft.

Focusing heat on an active workstation is one of the easiest budget heating tips for cutting winter power bills.

Proper sizing determines the heater capacity you buy. Next, you must place the unit safely away from garage hazards.

Garage Heater Safety: Gasoline Vapors, Clearances, Cords, and Carbon Monoxide

Garages often contain gasoline, paint, solvents, and other combustible materials. Keep them away from heaters and follow the clearances specified in the manufacturer's manual.

Storing Flammable Liquids

The Dr. Heater DR-975 manual prohibits storing or using gasoline, paint, or other flammable liquids near the heater. Vapors from open cans are heavier than air and collect along the floor.

Always relocate gas cans and cleaning solvents away from active heating equipment. Check your heater manual for specific separation guidelines.

Manufacturer Minimum Clearances

Every manufacturer mandates specific physical clearance distances around heating elements:

  • Dr. Heater DR-975: Must hang at least 6 feet above the finished floor, 1 foot from side walls, and keep combustibles 3 feet away from the front louvers.

  • Fahrenheat FUH54: Requires a 6-foot minimum mounting height from the floor to the base.

  • Mr. Heater Big Maxx: Demands an 8-foot minimum distance between the floor and the bottom of the suspended heater.

For portable electric heaters, CPSC recommends keeping all sides at least 3 feet from combustible items. Place portable units on a stable, level surface, keep their air paths clear, and never leave them running while sleeping or unattended. Follow the manual if it specifies stricter precautions.

Preventing Carbon Monoxide Hazards

Combustion equipment demands strict attention to air quality:

  • Vehicle exhaust: The CDC warns never to run cars or trucks inside an attached garage, even with overhead doors wide open. Over 400 Americans die annually from unintentional carbon monoxide poisoning not caused by building fires.

  • Unvented heaters: The Department of Energy says unvented combustion space heaters are not recommended for use inside your home because of the carbon monoxide risk. Never operate unvented propane or kerosene heaters in a closed garage unless the manufacturer specifically rates them for enclosed spaces.

  • Venting requirements: Fuel-burning unit heaters must vent completely outdoors per factory instructions.

  • CO detectors: Install battery-powered carbon monoxide alarms on every floor and outside sleeping quarters, as recommended by the CPSC Carbon Monoxide Information Center.

  • Fire safety codes: The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) publishes additional safety codes governing residential heating equipment.

Fuel-burning equipment in an attached garage is a carbon monoxide risk, and safer alternatives to gas generators follow the same logic of keeping combustion away from living space.

A safe heater still wastes power in a drafty space. Furthermore, battery systems kept in the garage have specific cold-weather boundaries.

Getting the Garage Ready for Heat and for Stored Batteries

The most affordable garage heat is the heat that never escapes. Sealing drafts and insulating walls should happen before upgrading to a larger heater.

If you keep a home battery backup system in your garage, you must include its operating temperature ratings in your winter plan.

Winter Garage Preparation Checklist

  • Seal gaps around the garage door and weatherstrip the door between the garage and house.

  • Insulate the walls and ceiling before increasing heater capacity.

  • Keep the heater's airflow unobstructed. Don't box in a ceiling-mounted unit.

  • Set the thermostat to a temperature suitable for the work you're doing.

  • Review the backup system's placement and temperature requirements.

  • Test your backup plan for a short, supervised period before relying on it during an outage.

Garage preparation checklistGarage preparation checklist

Check battery temperature limits

EcoFlow's specified operating ranges for the TITAN systems are 14°F to 113°F for discharging and 32°F to 113°F for charging. Keep the system in a dry, ventilated indoor location that meets its placement requirements.

An unheated garage can fall below the charging limit during a cold snap. Plan the battery's location around those limits instead of assuming that an indoor garage always stays warm enough.

Conclusion

The best garage heater matches your wiring and room volume. Use a 1,500W 120V plug-in heater for workbench spot heat, a 3,750W to 7,500W 240V unit for a full bay, or a vented gas unit heater where a gas line exists. Always size by cubic feet, keep flammables clear, and follow CPSC clearance rules. For reliable outage backup, work with a licensed electrician to pair the EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Classic with 120V plug-in heaters, or the EcoFlow TITAN 5000 Plus with compatible 240V circuits.

FAQs

What type of heater is best for a garage?

It depends on your power supply and heating needs. A 120V plug-in heater suits spot heating, a 240V unit can provide greater electric output, and a vented gas heater may suit a garage with a suitable gas line.

What size heater do I need for a 2-car garage?

Using Dr. Heater's 1.25W-per-cubic-foot rule, a 22 × 22-foot garage with an 8-foot ceiling needs about 4,840W. A 5,000W heater is a nearby option, though poor insulation may increase demand.

Will a 1,500-watt heater heat a garage?

A 1,500W heater produces roughly 5,100 BTU per hour. It can comfortably warm a small workspace or workbench area. However, it cannot heat a standard two-car garage, which generally requires around 4,800W to 5,000W of total heating capacity.

Is it safe to use a propane or gas heater in a garage?

Only a heater its maker allows for that space, installed and vented as the manual and local code require. DOE says unvented combustion space heaters aren’t recommended indoors. Install CO alarms.

Can a home battery run a garage heater during a power outage?

Yes, provided the heater's running wattage and voltage stay within the battery system's continuous output limits. For instance, a 1,500W heater can run for an estimated 2.8 hours on a 5kWh EcoFlow TITAN Classic. Larger 7,500W heaters exceed the 7.2kW standalone battery output of an EcoFlow TITAN Plus and cannot run at maximum power without supplemental solar generation.

For press requests or interview opportunities, reach out to our media team

media.na@ecoflow.com
Home Solutions